[Sticky] Introductions and Aspirations  

Page 3 / 3 Prev
  RSS
 Ian
(@ian)
Honorable Member Admin
Posted by: OldDog

I work in the field of structural engineering as a drafter. It didn't take long to realize, after starting to use Revit, that knowing how generate families would prove to be a very valuable skill to have. As with your other courses I look forward to the comprehensive, incremental approach you provide since family creation can be quite complex. I am eagerly awaiting the launch of this much needed course.

Russ Parker (OldDog)

Many thanks indeed Russ,

Cheers,

Ian

ReplyQuote
Posted : 04/04/2018 12:18 am
 Ian
(@ian)
Honorable Member Admin
Posted by: Jim Breisacher

I like Russ am an Old Dog myself, although I primarily work in Residential Remodeling, kitchen and bathrooms projects, and not engineering I need to try and create items that are very hard to find. A lot of companies are now starting to include Revit models for their products, but some of the things I need most are cabinets, appliances, doors, and windows that aren't from the major companies. Right now we use a specialized cabinet cad program, but I really want to be able to do it all in Revit. On higher end kitchen remodels, the clients want matching cabinet doors on their appliances, or the actual lighting fixture they want, or close to it. 

There are family templates, which I will try and create something, but soon throw up my hands and give up.

At any rate, knowing how to create and manipulate Revit families would be extremely beneficial

Jim Breisacher

From South Lake Tahoe, California

Thanks Jim,

Kitchen fitouts- no problem! Prime candidate for Revit Families. Create your sub-components (doors, blanking panels, etc) as seperate families and then nest them into a host family- so you can easily make different permutations without the rework. We'll be covering all this.

Cheers,

Ian

ReplyQuote
Posted : 04/04/2018 12:22 am
 Ian
(@ian)
Honorable Member Admin
Posted by: P

Hi Ian,