Maybe a master of manual line and ignoramus of computers  

gianmariabroker
New Member Member

I am a California real estate broker.  I don't practice much but I want to explore the possibility of expanding a residential dwelling or two.  

I am pretty comfortable with the pen and the line drawing.  I have experience in editorial illustration and cartoon animation.  I d say I am better with holding a pen than handling a computer or software of any kind.  I published my first architecture doodles when I was in elementary school in part because of my graphic skills.   

In most cases I presume it d be much easier for me to express ideas with my pen.  Perhaps a BIM support structure of some kind can help me discipline and refine my vocabulary in such a way as to be less confusing to tradespeople as to what I am trying to achieve.

I enrolled in a REVIT course and I got a copy of its 2018 version.  I am not sure how long I can keep it.  I am guessing a year.  

I would like to start by drawing additions to a 3 bedroom, one bath house of 1010 habitable sf and 400 sf garage.  From my understanding of the regs, for now I could build a 200 sf "extra bedroom or room" in the back to give my tenants space somewhat equivalent to what I'd be taking away in the garage, improve the 2-car garage into a master bedroom with a private small bath, add a second main or back up 73 sf bath and laundry area next to it (commonly accessible), then expand the living room which looks into the backyard with a sun room of sorts.  I have a FEMA regulation limit of spending about 50% of the appraised value of the house.  I know my insurance estimates the present structure's replacement cost at $309,000.  I am thinking the remodeled garage could add about 12,000 in value, the bath 25,000, the extra room 30,000, and the sun room 20,000, for a total of $87,000 or so.  I should be then well within my presumed appraisal value of half of the old structure ($100-150k?).