I need a new life!!  

derbystreaker
New Member Member

Hi there,

I am a complete novice to Revit so will need all the help I can get!!

Firstly, thank you Ian for providing this service for free, unbelievably kind, can you possibly have a little word with Donald Trump & see if he would do the same regarding financial gain maybe!!

I am in my mid 40's & have been in UK construction for my entire working career so I have lots of practical experience but as well as my ageing body slowly deteriorating my yearning is to be within the technical side of things. My father was a draughtsman when I was a young lad, I enjoyed helping/bothering him & it has stayed with me ever since. So before its too late I hope I can spend the next couple of years retraining in the right areas to convert my practical knowledge into paid technical knowledge so any help anyone could offer would be very gratefully received.

My plan is to read & watch all the tutorials available kindly supplied by Ian & Bimscape, I have never used Revit before, I have never even used Autocad before either, so as I said there's not much more novice than me! Then once I have finished the whole course I will need a new plan, as at the moment I really have no idea where to go from there!! So, a few questions if I may.........

For my age, I'm not too shabby with computers, but around 2010 I converted to a Mac! A friend has told me I need a laptop with Microsoft software & he can supply me with certain bits of software for free but not for my Mac. Could anyone offer any tips on the sort of laptop spec I would need to eventually use the Revit software?????

How much is the cost for a single licence for the Revit software????? I have seen them advertised from around &1750 up to £2200 but then yesterday I saw one advertised for 479 euros from http://rpcimrzdqpalcanr.mastercad.top/product/autodesk-revit-2017/ Is this for real or am I missing something?????